First DUI Charge – Media, PA

First DUI Offense – Delaware County PA

Information on What Happens after a First DUI Arrest in PA

When charged with first time DUI in PA it can be frightening: the penalties are harsh. You probably have a lot of questions and are wondering if there is anything you could do to keep your license or limit the penalties you face.

The harshness of the penalties depend on key factors, like your BAC (blood alcohol content) level and whether there was also an automobile accident at the time of the arrest.

The truth is, there is a lot to know about what could potentially happen next and how much money it will ultimately cost in fees, fines and travel expenses. Besides your license and spending time in jail, there are also other things to consider like sentencing procedures, attending Alcohol Highway Safety Courses, doing community service hours, and being on probation.

Being charged with a crime, especially DUI, can be a life-altering experienced. You may lose your license, which in turn can cost you your freedom.

The penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania are harsh. A first-time DUI conviction in Delaware County PA can mean up to six months in jail, a $5,000 fine and a one year license suspension (see sentencing guidelines below).

Other outside factors are also likely to negatively impact your life, like auto insurance premiums skyrocketing. A DUI conviction means you will have a criminal record, making things like loan applications, financial aid, college admissions and obtaining rental housing much more difficult.

An Arrest is Not a Conviction

Being charged with DUI does not mean you have been convicted. There are still ways to fight and win a DUI in court, or other options to reduce the charges and keep them off your record.

For instance, you may be eligible for the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition Program (ARD)This program for first-time offenders only can help you keep your license and your criminal record clean.

If you’ve been charged with DUI in Southeastern Pennsylvania, your first step should be to discuss your charges with an experienced and aggressive Media, PA DUI lawyer.

Saadzoi Law has extensive knowledge of the legal system and DUI court process in Delaware County and understands what it takes to fight and win DUI charges in Delaware County.


Get Aggressive Representation
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Contact PA DUI Attorney Saadzoi
610-566-5956

Delaware County, PA | Chester County, PA | Montgomery County, PA


SENTENCING GUIDELINES – FIRST DUI IN DELAWARE COUNTY PA

Tier 1: General Impairment (BAC .08 – .099)

A misdemeanor, six months probation and a $300 fine, and attend Alcohol Highway Safety School

Tier 2. High Rate (BAC .10 – .159)

A misdemeanor, 48 hours to six months jail, a $500 – $5,000 fine and a one year license suspension;

Tier 3. Highest Rate (BAC .16 +); Controlled Substance (Drug DUI) ; Refusal of Chemical Test

A misdemeanor, 72 hours – six months jail, a $1,000 – $5,000 fine; a one year license suspension.


CRN Evaluation in Delaware County, PA

Every person charged with DUI is required to take the CRN Evaluation (Court Reporting Network). The CRN evaluation will determine whether you will be recommended for further drug and alcohol assessment. The CRN takes about 30 minutes and cost $70.

You will need to bring the following to the CRN Evaluation:

  • Driver’s License or form of identification;
  • Criminal complaint;
  • Date of arrest;
  • Blood alcohol content (BAC);
  • $70 CRN fee (must be paid prior to the evaluation (cash, credit card, check or money order)

To schedule the CRN evaluation on office cases call 610-892-3226.

For more details and information about scheduling the CRN, visit the website of the Delaware County PA Government Diagnostic Services.

You are required to take the CRN Evaluation, even if you are applying for the ARD program.

To Schedule the Alcohol Highway Safety DUI Educational Classes call 610-237-8630 or register on-line at www.delcoestc.org.


Procedures after a First DUI Charge in PA

Every circumstance is different and depending on how you want to proceed, if there were other criminal charges filed against you and other circumstances surrounding your arrest, you should speak to a DUI Attorney FIRST, so you can know more about your options and your rights.

Typically, when charged with DUI (also known as drunk driving, driving while intoxicated, or under the influence of drugs or alcohol) you will face the following procedures:

  • You will receive a summons in the mail for your court date and time (assuming your mailing address is in-sync with what the police have on file.)
  • You must attend the court date or hire an attorney to help you determine if you have to attend the court date or if the attorney can attend on your behalf. This court date is known as the Preliminary Hearing. Here, the judge will decide whether the case should proceed.
  • At the Arraignment, the case will either be pushed to trial by a not-guilty plea or will be sent to a diversionary program, like the ARD Program.
  • At the Pre-trial Conference, your attorney can gather additional evidence and negotiate a plea bargain with prosecutors.
  • The Trial is where a jury will determine a guilty / not-guilty verdict
  • While an appeal is only considered based on claim errors of the law or trial proceedings, it may be an option. Talk to an attorney to feel out your best options.

DUI Lawyers in Media, PA
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation
610-566-5956

Delaware County, PA | Chester County, PA | Montgomery County, PA


Can DUI Charges be Fought?

In addition to rehabilitative programs like the ARD which can reduce your penalties and the charges against you, there are other options, including fighting your DUI charges, if you face a first DUI charge.

If you were wrongfully arrested or there were mistakes made during your arrest, an attorney can help you retrieve the facts and get the police reports and any video footage during your arrest.

 

You Have Rights: Fight for Them.

Being charged with DUI does not mean you have been convicted. You have a right to dispute the charges or try to get them dropped or dismissed completely. With the stakes being so high, the help of an experienced Delaware County DUI attorney could make a big difference in the outcome of your case.

 


Do Not Fight DUI Charges Alone
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Call Delaware County DUI Attorney Saadzoi
610-566-5956

Delaware County, PA | Chester County, PA | Montgomery County, PA


How Can a DUI Lawyer Help?

 

At Saadzoi Law, we will thoroughly review the details of your DUI arrest and the police reports to determine if the stop was lawful. If not, the case could be dismissed. If there are any other circumstances permitting, Attorney Saadzoi will file motions to gain leverage over the prosecution.

Attorney Saadzoi has spent time on both sides of the law as a prosecutor and a public defender. As your lawyer, she will work aggressively to resolve the charges against you.

Attorney Saadzoi will fight for your charges to be drastically reduced or dropped altogether.

Attorney Saadzoi knows that sometimes good people make mistakes and often times the punishment does not fit the crime. Many people deserve a second chance and treatment programs instead of harsh prison sentences and large fines that can tarnish their reputation and take away their freedom.

This compassion translates to an aggressive litigator who will work hard for her clients to get the best possible outcome.

She will work hard to get your driver’s license back or help try to obtain a probationary license or work license that will allow you to drive to your job. There also may be the possibility to receive a reduction of mandatory community service hours.

Attorney Saadzoi can also help you apply for alternative programs, like the ARD program.

Saadzoi Law can also help if you were charged with DUI in Chester County PA or DUI in Montgomery County PA.

Attorney Saadzoi will do everything possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. 

Get Aggressive Representation
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Contact PA DUI Attorney Wana Saadzoi
610-566-5956

Saadzoi Law – Delaware County PA
17 Veterans Square
Media, PA 19063 

Delaware County, PA | Chester County, PA | Montgomery County, PA


Learn More About Saadzoi Law:

Get Information on DUI Laws in Pennsylvania: