Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Chester Co Pennsylvania

What Happens When You are Convicted of DUI in Pennsylvania?

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania are connected to your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level at the time of arrest.

Penalties for DUI are separated into three tiers – Lowest, High and Highest.

For a first time DUI in Chester County at the lowest tier, you are still facing a misdemeanor conviction, six months of probation and a $300 fine, plus a loss of license, other fines and having to attend Alcohol Highway Safety School and take the CRN evaluation (a $75 fee) for other possible alcohol treatments.

At the highest tier, a first time DUI offender in Chester County faces a mandatory 72 hours in jail and a maximum of six months in jail, a misdemeanor, up to $5,000 in fines and a one year license suspension, among other fines and treatment programs you may be required to attend.

If this is a second DUI, third DUI or subsequent offense, the penalties are much higher.

Read more information about the different BAC tiers and penalties for DUI in PA.

You can also view the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing DUI Statute.

Also review the PA Code 75 Chapter 38 Driving After Imbibing Alcohol or Utilizing Drugs 


Do Not Fight DUI Charges Alone
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Call Chester County DUI Attorney Saadzoi
610-566-5956


SENTENCING GUIDELINES – DUI IN PENNSYLVANIA

Tier 1: General Impairment (BAC .08 – .099)

  • 1st Offense DUI: A misdemeanor, six months probation and a $300 fine;
  • 2nd Offense DUI: A misdemeanor, five days to six months in jail, a $300 -$2500 fine and a one year license suspension;
  • 3rd Offense DUI: 2nd degree misdemeanor, ten days to two years in prison, a $500 -$5,000 fine and a one year license suspension.

Tier 2. High Rate (BAC .10 – .159)

  • 1st Offense DUI: A misdemeanor, 48 hours to six months jail, a $500 – $5,000 fine and a one year license suspension;
  • 2nd Offense DUI: A misdemeanor, 30 days – six months jail, a $750 – $5,000 fine and a one year license suspension;
  • 3rd Offense DUI:  A 1st degree misdemeanor, 90 days – five years in prison, a $1,500 – $10,000 fine and an 18 month license suspension;
  • 4th Offense DUI: A 1st degree misdemeanor, One year to five years in prison, a $1,500 – $10,000 fine and an 18 month license suspension.

Tier 3. Highest Rate (BAC .16 +); Controlled Substance (Drug DUI) ; Refusal of Chemical Test

  • 1st Offense DUI: A misdemeanor, 72 hours – six months jail, a $1,000 – $5,000 fine; a one year license suspension;
  • 2nd Offense DUI: A first-degree misdemeanor, 90 days – five years in prison a $1,500 – $10,000 fine, and an 18 month license suspension;
  • 3rd Offense DUI:  A first-degree misdemeanor, one year to five years jail, a $2,500 – $10,000 fine and an 18 month license suspension.

See the full Pennsylvania Penalties for DUI convictions.

Court Reporting Network (CRN) Evaluation in Chester County, PA

All DUI offenders in Pennsylvania are required to pay a $75 fee to take the CRN Evaluation (Court Reporting Network). The CRN evaluation will determine whether you will be recommended for further drug and alcohol assessment. The CRN takes 30-45 minutes. You will need to bring the following:

  • Driver’s License or form of identification;
  • Criminal complaint;
  • Date of arrest;
  • Blood alcohol content (BAC);
  • $75 CRN fee (must be paid prior to the evaluation (cash, credit card, check or money order) at the Probation, Parole & Pretrial Services Office in the Chester County Justice Center located at 201 West Market Street, West ChesterPA 19380. 

For more information, please see the Chester County PA DUI Program Overview.


Speak With A DUI Attorney First.

Contact PA DUI Lawyer Saadzoi today to schedule a free legal case evaluation.

Saadzoi Law can also help if you were charged with DUI in Delaware County PA or DUI in Montgomery County PA.

Protect Your Rights. Call 610-566-5956 to schedule a consultation. Spanish translation services are available and credit cards are accepted.

Get Aggressive Representation
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Contact PA DUI Attorney Saadzoi
610-566-5956


How Can Saadzoi Law Help?

A conviction for DUI could have disastrous consequences on your future. A criminal record makes it difficult to find employment, to get housing, to get loans for education, automobiles and housing. It can be a negative weight hanging over your shoulders for a long time.

Fighting a DUI charge could help weaken the impact, by having your charges reduced or dismissed.

Attorney Saadzoi has years of experience successfully helping clients get their DUI charges reduced, dismissed and resolved. A DUI charge in Chester County can be very stressful.

At Saadzoi Law, we review the details of your DUI arrest and ask you questions about what you and the police said. We review police reports and determine if the stop was lawful and if you were in control of the vehicle. If not, or if there are any other circumstances permitting, Attorney Saadzoi will file motions to gain leverage over the prosecution. She will do everything to get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether.

She will also help you understand the proceedings for acceptance into the Chester County ARD Program, if you qualify.

Battling DUI charges on your own could increase the likelihood that you will face DUI penalties to the fullest potential of the law.

Do Not Fight DUI Charges Alone. Call Attorney Saadzoi Today.


Speak With a DUI Attorney First.
Call Today for a Free Legal Case Evaluation

Contact PA DUI Attorney Saadzoi
610-566-5956

Saadzoi Law – Chester County PA
600 Eagleview Blvd, Suite 300
Exton, PA 19341


 Learn More About Saadzoi Law:

Get Information on DUI Laws in Pennsylvania: